Gyre not creating output file summary.txt

Bug/problem reports for any of the GYRE executables (gyre_ad, gyre_nad, etc)
Post Reply
Freddy
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 8:02 pm

Gyre not creating output file summary.txt

Post by Freddy » Tue Apr 24, 2018 9:35 pm

Hello,

I'm using MESA r10108 that contains GYRE version 5.1, code apparently works but when it finishes I get no summary output file.

I tried compiling GYRE 5.1 on it's own but when I do the test run I get the error shown in the attached image.

Any pointers on what could be the problem?
Attachments
30850153_10215426730319580_15920023_o.png
30850153_10215426730319580_15920023_o.png (489.64 KiB) Viewed 91 times

User avatar
rhtownsend
Site Admin
Posts: 278
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 4:22 pm

Re: Gyre not creating output file summary.txt

Post by rhtownsend » Tue Apr 24, 2018 10:55 pm

Hi Freddy --

How are you running GYRE inside MESA? Using one of the test-suite examples?

For the stand-alone version, the failure of the solar model test with GYRE 5.1 on Linux is a known issue. It is nothing to worry about, so you can ignore it and use GYRE without any problem.

cheers,

Rich

Freddy
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2018 8:02 pm

Re: Gyre not creating output file summary.txt

Post by Freddy » Wed Apr 25, 2018 9:53 am

Yes, I was using the test-suit examples when running GYRE inside MESA, the only file I modified was gyre.in.

Right now I'm compiled GYRE and running it on it's own, I ignored the error as you said and it is creating the output file and apparently working as intended :) .

Thank you for your time.

User avatar
rhtownsend
Site Admin
Posts: 278
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2013 4:22 pm

Re: Gyre not creating output file summary.txt

Post by rhtownsend » Wed Apr 25, 2018 2:13 pm

Freddy wrote:Yes, I was using the test-suit examples when running GYRE inside MESA, the only file I modified was gyre.in.
For the test-suite examples, it's usual that no summary file is produced. This is because when GYRE is running inside MESA, it is typically being used to do iterative asteroseismic analysis (e.g., refine the model mass and composition to provide the best match to a set of observed frequencies) rather than to produce a set of frequencies for a single stellar model.
Right now I'm compiled GYRE and running it on it's own, I ignored the error as you said and it is creating the output file and apparently working as intended :) .

Thank you for your time.
I'm glad it's working for you!

cheers,

Rich

Post Reply