The 13 Constellations of the Zodiac

The Zodiac is the ring of constellations that the Sun seems to pass through each year as the Earth orbits around it. Contrary to popular belief, there are actually 13 zodiacal constellations, if you pay attention to the way astronomers define them. In addition to
Capricornus, Aquarius, Pisces, Aries,
Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo,
Virgo, Libra, Scorpius, and Sagittarius,
the Sun also passes through

Try getting some astrologer to explain THAT one to you...

While you're at it, ask them to explain why all the "Signs of the Zodiac" are off by about one month. (hint: astrology was invented more than 2000 years ago and the precession of the Earth's pole has caused changes in the postions of the stars since then)

The path the Sun follows is called the ecliptic. The ecliptic plane is the plane defined by the Earth's orbit around the Sun. All of the planets except Pluto orbit very near the ecliptic plane, so you will usually find all of them in zodiacal constellations.

Notice that in astronomy, it is Scorpius, not Scorpio and Capricornus, not Capricorn. These are the official names for the constellations.

Back to Constellations Home Page

Chris Dolan's Home Page