The Midwest Magnetic Fields Workshop

April 4th 2012, Madison, WI

The Midwest is home to many groups studying astrophysical magnetic fields. Therefore it is advantageous to stimulate exchanges and collaboration between groups in America's Heartland. This workshop precedes the 2012 CMSO Turbulent Reconnection Workshop occurring on April 5th and 6th. If you would also like to attend the Reconnection Workshop please register separately here. Both workshops are free of charge.

Organizers: Alex Lazarian and Blakesley Burkhart

Time: April 4th: 8:30 am - 6:30 pm

Location: Union South, University of Wisconsin, 1308 W. Dayton St., Madison, WI 53715 (Directions)

Sponsors: Center for Magnetic Self-Organization in Laboratory and Astrophysical Plasmas (CMSO)

Hotels: We have reserved a block of hotel rooms at the Union South. To book a room for your stay in Madison, please call 608-263-2600. Rooms are held under the Group Name: Midwest Magnetic Fields Reconnection Workshop or Group Code: Reconnection please mention either the group name or group code when making reservations. Rooms will be held to March 15, 2012. Rate for Single/Double Occupancy $119.00 per night and include complimentary underground parking & free WIFI.


Please fill out the below registration form and send it via email both to Dale Schutte: and Blakesley Burkhart

Download the Registration Form.

Topics of the workshop

  • Measuring Magnetic Fields
  • MHD Turbulence
  • Magnetized Processes
  • Cosmic Rays Accelerations
  • Dynamo and Reconnection

    Workshop Program

    Presentation Slides:

    Registered Participants:

    Confirmed Speakers: C. Heiles (UC Berkeley), B. Brown (Wisconsin), T. Hoang (Wisconsin), S. Boldyrev (Wisconsin), G. Novak (Northwestern), D. Crutcher (U. of Illinois), D. Thuecks (Wisconsin), A. Lazarian (Wisconsin), B. Burkhart (Wisconsin), H. Lee (Wisconsin), D. Balsara (Notre Dame), Terry Jones (Minnesota), C. Murray (Wisconsin), C. Hull (UC Berkeley), J. McBride (UC Berkeley), A. Mao (Wisconsin), E. Vishniac (McMaster), N. Chapman (Northwestern), C. Matthews (Notre Dame)

    Poster: I. Khalzov (Wisconsin), B. Whitney (Wisconsin), M. Brookhart (Wisonsin), N. Kaltcheva (UW Oshkosh),T. Matthews (Wisconsin), D. Stone (Wisconsin), B. Tofflemire (Wisconsin)

    Participants: S. Stanimirovic, K. Rahbarnia, J Rossmanith, M. Lee, D. Yoon, E. Kaplan, C. Bard, V. Zhdankin, D. French, J. Mathis, B. Morsoney, Z. Wang, E. Zweibel, P. Timbie

  • Simulations of Interstellar Turbulence by V. van Gogh, 1889