Clair Murray Wins Dissertation Award

Congratulations, Claire, on winning the 2017 Robert L. Brown Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award by the NRAO!

Mar.21.2018 | Continue Reading »

Astronomy Professor Named 2018/2019 Vilas Associate

Astronomy Professor Elena D'Onghia received a prestigious Vilas Associate Award for her work on galaxy dynamics.

Feb.26.2018 | Continue Reading »

Badger Astronomer to Head NSF Math and Physics Division

Read an interview with Anne Kinney, the new head of the NSF's Math and Physics Directorate.

Jan.25.2018 | Continue Reading »

January 2018 Washburn Express

Welcome aboard the Washburn Express. The January 2018 edition of our bite-sized E-mail newsletter is now available.

Jan.15.2018 | Continue Reading »

WIYN Open Cluster Survey Takes 100,000th spectrum!

The UW-Madison WOCS (WIYN telescope Open Cluster Study) team that studies stars in open clusters in the Milky Way has recently recorded its 100,000th spectrum!

Dec.14.2017 | Continue Reading »

UW-Madison Astronomy Home